High Performance Committee

The purpose of the High Performance Committee is to assist and advise Sport Ireland in relation to the performance of its functions under section 8 (1) of the Sport Ireland Act 2015, relevant to the achievement of excellence in competitive sport.

The Committee will:

1. Advise on the strategic and operational planning for the High Performance Programme and the Sport Ireland Institute

2. Advise on key initiatives within the High Performance Programme and the Sport Ireland Institute to include:

  • National Governing Body High Performance Investment and Performance Planning Process
  • Implementation of the Carding Scheme Review
  • Implementation of the Rio Review, and any other Report as directed by the Board
  • Overall coordination and collaboration within the High Performance system
  • Coaching development in the High Performance system

3. Advise on national and international policies and requirements in conjunction with the High Performance Unit and the Sport Ireland Institute

Olive Loughnane

High Performance Committee Members:

Olive Loughnane, Chair, Sport Ireland Board Member

Lynne Cantwell, Sport Ireland Board Member

Deirdre Ryan, Sport Ireland Board Member

Peter Sherrard, Chief Executive, Olympic Federation of Ireland

Stephen McNamara, Chief Executive, Paralympics Ireland

Richard Archibald, Director of Sport, Sport Northern Ireland

Mike Heskin, Independent Member

Roy Dooney, Independent Member 

Brian Moore, Independent Member

Natalya Coyle, Independent Member