Safeguarding Training

Sport Ireland offers three workshop in the area of Safeguarding and child protection. The details of the three stages of training are outlined here as follows

Safeguarding 1 - Child Welfare & Protection Basic Awareness Workshop

All Coaches, Club Children’s Officers (CCO) and Designated Liaison Persons (DLP) must first complete the 3 hour Child Welfare & Protection Basic Awareness Workshop.  This workshop educates participants on the implementation of best practice in safeguarding the welfare of children involved in sport

Safeguarding 2 - Club Children’s Officer

A person appointed to the role of Club Children’s Officer within a club must have firstly completed Sport Irelands Safeguarding 1 (Child Welfare & Protection Basic Awareness workshop). They should also complete Sport Irelands Club Children’s Officer 3 hour workshop. The aim of this workshop is to help the Club Children’s Officer to carry out their role and support the implementation of best practice in the club. Participants will also receive a Club Children’s Officer Action Planning document as part of the training.

Safeguarding 3 - Designated Liaison Person

A person appointed to the Designated Liaison Person position in a club must firstly complete Sport Irelands Child Welfare & Protection Basic Awareness Workshop and should complete the Sport Irelands Designated Liaison Person 3 hour workshop. A club may appoint the same person to both the CCO and DLP positions however best practice advises that they are kept as separate roles.

Club Children's Officers (CCO)

Club Children's Officers should be child centred in focus. Their primary aim is to establish a child centred ethos within the club. The CCO is the link between the children and the adults in the club.  They also have responsibility for monitoring and reporting to the Club Management Committee on how club policy impacts on young people and Sports Leaders

Designated Liaison Person (DLP)

Every club/organisation should designate a person to be responsible for dealing with any concerns about the protection of children. The Designated Liaison Person is responsible for reporting allegations or suspicions of child abuse to TULSA Child and Family Agency or Social Services (NI) and/or An Garda Siochán / PSNI. It is recommended that this person is a senior club person. However, if there is difficulty identifying a separate individual to take this role, the Club Children’s Officer can be appointed as Designated Liaison Person once the club/organisation is clear about the responsibilities of each role.  The organisation’s child protection policy and procedures should include the name and contact details of the Designated Liaison Person and the responsibilities attached to the role.

Safeguarding Tutors 

Local Sports Partnerships / National Governing Body  
Safeguarding Workshop 
Email
Also Delivering With
Cavan Area
       
Fortune Barbara Safeguarding 1  barbarafortune052@gmail.com GAA
Clare Area
       
Meehan Aine Safeguarding 1  meehanaine1@gmail.com Clare Sports Partnership 
Cork Area
       
Ni Challanain Deirdre Safeguarding 1 & 2 deirdrenc@gmail.com Cork Sports Partnership, Laois Sports Partnership, Orienteering Ireland
O'Regan Barry Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 barry@risingsun.ie Cork Sports Partnership 
Bond  Elizabeth  Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 elizbond7@gmail.com  
Harris Ita  Safeguarding 1 & 2  itaharris2002@yahoo.co.uk Cork Sports Partnership, Community Games
Hynes Jon  Safeguarding 1 jon.hynes@corketb.ie Canoeing Ireland, Kinsale Outdoor Education Centre, Fastnet Marine Outdoor Education Centre, Cork Education and Training Board 
Dublin Area
       
Findlater Jantien Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 jantien.tange@gmail.com Hockey Ireland
Howe Jerome Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 jeromehowe@gmail.com Various NGBs
Kelly Sharon  Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 sharon.kelly@dublincity.ie Dublin City Council - DCSWP, Diving Ireland, Sailing Ireland
Priestley Bernie Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 bpriestley1704@gmail.com LSPs and NGBs
Rice Aideen Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3  aideenrice@gmail.com Cricket Ireland and Cricket Leinster
Waters Michelle Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 michelle.waters@dublincity.ie Dublin City Sport and Wellbeing Partnership
Malone Michelle Safeguarding 1 michelle.malone@dublincity.ie Dublin City Sport and Wellbeing Partnership
Flood  Catherine  Safeguarding 1 Catherine.Flood@dublincity.ie Dublin city sports and Wellbeing Partnership
Scott-Hayward Naomi  Safeguarding 1 nshlearningireland@gmail.com Active South Dublin, Cricket Ireland and Cricket Leinster
Donegal Area
       
Logue Charlene Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 loguecharlene@donegalyouthservice.ie  Donegal Sports Partnership
Fingal Area
       
Walsh Mary Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 marycwalsh2000@gmail.com Meath LSP, HSI, RDAI, several LSP’s
Keogh Paul Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 paul.keogh@fai.ie FAI, Fingal County Council LSP
Congdon Tara Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 tara.rdo@tennisireland.ie Fingal County Council & DLRCC
Galway Area
       
Morgan Larry Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3  laurencejmorgan@gmail.com Galway Sports Partnership
Codyre Katie Safeguarding 1 katie.codyre@gmail.com Currently, Galway Sports Partnership
Previously, Golf Ireland
Curley Michael Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3  mick.curley54@gmail.com LSP's and GAA
Kildare Area
       
Kavanagh Ken Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 kavanagh.ken81@gmail.com LSP's in Kildare and Carlow, Laois and Special Olympics Ireland
Kilkenny Area
       
Power  Patrick Safeguarding 1  Coachpatpower1@gmail.com Waterford Sports Partnership, Wicklow Sports Partnership, Kilkenny Recreation and Sports Partnership, Laois Sports Partnership, Special Olympics and Golf Ireland.
McCarthy Bridgette Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 bridgettebmccarthy@gmail.com Kilkenny Recreation and Sports Partnership 
Tipperary Sports Partnership 
Kerry Area
       
Kennedy Tom  Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 kennedy.edenlodge@gmail.com  
Murphy Collette Safeguarding 1 cmbooks2000@gmail.com  Kerry County Council and Kerry GAA
Evans William Safeguarding 1 grouselodge2020@gmail.com GAA
Laois Area
       
Howe Patrick Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 paddyhowe51@gmail.com Laois Sports Partnership, Carlow Sports Partnership
Leitrim Area
       
Heslin Mark Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 markeheslin@hotmail.com GAA
Patricia Forde Safeguarding 1 PatriciaMForde95@gmail.com Leitrim Sports Partnership, Longford, Roscommon, Sligo and Cavan LSP's.
Limerick Area
       
Deedigan Breda Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 bredadeedigan@gmail.com Limerick Sports Partnership, Clare Sports Partnership, Cork Sports Partnership
O’Connor  Jason  Safeguading 1 jason.oconnor@fai.ie Limerick Sports Partnership, Football Association Of Ireland
Louth Area
       
Campbell Antoinette Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 antoincampbell@gmail.com Special Olympics
Treacy Joe Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 joe.treacy@dkit.ie Louth LSP, Golf Ireland
Meath Area
       
Walsh Mary Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 marycwalsh2000@gmail.com Meath LSP, HSI, RDAI, and LSP’s
Mayo Area
       
Ronayne-Fahey Anne Safeguarding 1 & 2  anne.ronayne@yahoo.com Mayo Sports Partnership, Galway Sports Partnership
O'Boyle Denis Safeguarding 1 denisoboyle@gmail.com GAA, LGFA, Camogie, 
Casey  Eanna Safeguarding 1 eannacasey@gmail.com GAA
Offlay Area
       
Curley Michael Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3  mick.curley54@gmail.com LSP's and GAA
Roscommon Area
       
O'Brien Marie Safeguarding 1 marieobrien4321@gmail.com  GAA, and Roscommon LSP
Igoe Elaine Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 elaine@rosactive.org Roscommon, Longford & Leitrim Sports Partnership 
Martin Damien  Safeguarding 1  damien@rosactive.org Roscommon SP
Sligo Area
       
Leydon Mary Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 maryleydon@ymail.com Sligo Sport and Recreation Partnership, Mayo Sports Partnership, Golf Ireland
Wilson Heather Safeguarding 1    hezabeza35@hotmail.com Sligo Sport and Recreation Partnership and Canoeing Ireland
Tipperary Area
       
Connolly Valerie Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 valerie.connolly@tipperarycoco.ie Tipperary SP
Hickey Leah  Edel  Safeguarding 1  edel.hickey@gmail.com  Tipperary Sports Partnerships and other LSPs -
GAA/LGFA/Camogie
Waterford Area
       
Jones Peter Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 pjones@waterfordsportspartnership.ie Waterford Sports Partnership, Golf Ireland, Irish Surfing Association
O Neill Brian  Safeguarding 1    boneill@waterfordsportspartnership.ie  Waterford Sports Partnership
Brannigan Sinead Safeguading 1 sbrannigan@waterfordsportspartnership.ie Waterford Sports Partnership
Wicklow Area
       
Mc Bride Andrew Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 andymc83@gmail.com Golf Ireland, Hockey Ireland, DLR LSP, South Dublin LSP, Wicklow LSP
O’Shea Denise  Safeguarding 1 osheadenise7@gmail.com Wicklow Sports & Recreation Partnership 
Wexford Area
       
Howlin Dermot Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 dermothowlin@hotmail.com OR dermot@gymnasticsireland.com Wexford Sport Active, Gymnastics Ireland, Gaelic Athletic Association and other organisations
Mc Carthy Jo Safegaurding 1, 2, & 3 jomccarthy1@gmail.com  Kerry Recreation and Sports Partnership, Wexford Sports Active, Sport Ireland Coaching 
Mc Guinness Sarah  Safeguarding 1  Sae_mc_guinness@hotmail.com Sports Active Wexford
Westmeath Area
       
Walsh Karen Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 kpmwalsh@gmail.com Westmeath Sports Partnership 
National Governing Bodies 
       
Angling Council of Ireland
       
Seward Bob Safeguarding 1 bobseward08@yahoo.com Angling Council of Ireland 
Archery Ireland
       
Hayes Michael  Safeguarding 1 apo@archery.ie Archery Ireland
Athletics Ireland 
       
O'Rourke  Olivia  Safeguarding 1  oliviaorourke@athleticsireland.ie Athletics Ireland
Badminton Ireland
       
Fadian Conor Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 cfadian@badmintonireland.com Badminton Ireland
McCourtney Craig Safeguarding 1 & 2 cmccourtney@badmintonireland.com Badminton Ireland
Basketball Ireland
       
Carr Paul Safeguarding 1  pcarr@ireland.basketball Basketball Ireland
Bevan Janine Safeguarding 1  Janine@railway-cottage.com Basketball Ireland
Canoeing Ireland
       
Judge Alan Safeguarding 1 alanjudge01@gmail.com Canoeing Ireland
Wilson Heather Safeguarding 1 hezabeza35@hotmail.com Canoeing Ireland, Sligo Sport and Recreation Partnership 
Cricket Ireland
       
Baskarasubramanian Meena Safeguarding 1 meenaolag@gmail.com Cricket Ireland
IRFU 
       
Murphy Luke Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 luke.murphy@connachtrugby.ie IRFU, Galway LSP, Waterford LSP, IMAC, Badminton Ireland
O Leary  Emily  Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 emilyoleary@munsterrugby.ie IRFU, Munster Rugby 
Gore  Stephen Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 stephen.gore@leinsterrugby.ie IRFU
Hughes Annemarie Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 ANNEMARIE.HUGHES@IRFU.IE IRFU
O'Brien Peter Safeguarding 1  petermobrien1@gmail.com IRFU
Irish Wheelchair Association Sport
       
Kennedy Daragh  Safeguarding 1 daragh.kennedy@iwa.ie IWA Sport
Wall-Foley Joanne Safeguarding 1  Joannewall@gmail.com Carlow LSP, IWA Sport
Pollock Shannon Safeguarding 1 shannon.pollock@iwa.ie IWA Sport
Irish Amateur Boxing Association
       
Geraghty James Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 james@iaba.ie Irish Athletic Boxing Association, Association of Irish Powerchair Football
Sailing Ireland
       
Murphy Ciaran Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 ciaran.murphy@sailing.ie Irish Sailing - LSPs on request
Murphy Johanne  Safeguarding 1 surfymurph@yahoo.ie  Sailing
Swim Ireland
       
Hills Kate Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 Katehills@swimireland.ie Swim Ireland
O'Hara Eamon Safeguarding 1 eamonohara8884@gmail.com Swim Ireland
Barry  Deirdre Safeguarding 1 deirdre.barry@setu.ie Swim Ireland
Garvey Mary Safeguarding 1  maryswim@yahoo.com Swim Ireland
Walker Ann Marie  Safeguarding 1 iamwhea@hotmail.com Swim Ireland
Kelly Sarah  Safeguarding 1  sarahkelly@swimireland.ie Swim Ireland
Dunne Mary Safeguarding 1 marydunne@swimireland.ie        marycorrimbla@gmail.com Swim Ireland
Murphy Grainne Safeguarding 1 grainne-wexford@hotmail.com Swim Ireland
Tilley-Rock Johanna  Safeguarding 1 jtrcourses@gmail.com Swim Ireland
Kavanagh Martin Safeguarding 1 stpaulsswim@yahoo.ie Swim Ireland
Special Olympics Ireland
       
Ní Ghabhann Amanda  Safeguarding 1 amanda.nighabhann@specialolympics.ie Special Olympics Ireland/Basketball Ireland/ Softball Ireland/ Baseball Ireland 
McCrave Kim Safeguarding 1 Kim_mccrave@hotmail.com Special Olympics Ireland and Badminton Ireland 
Lahart Jeff Safeguarding 1 jlahart@specialolympics.org Special Olympics Ireland and Badminton Ireland
Taekwondo Ireland
       
Mahon Brenda Safeguarding 1 brenda@taekwondoireland.ie  Taekwondo Ireland
Tennis Ireland
       
Congdon Tara Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 tara.rdo@tennisireland.ie Fingal County Council & DLRCC
Horse Sport Ireland
       
Hayes Paul Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 Phayes@horsesportireland.ie Horse Sport Ireland, Open to deliver for others
Hockey Ireland
       
Hill Dwyne Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 dwyne.hill@pitchandputtIreland.ie Pitch & Putt Ireland, Volleyball Ireland
National Sports Campus
       
Drew Aoife Safeguarding 1 aoifedrew@sportirelandcampus.ie Sport Ireland Campus 
Whelan Lynn Safeguarding 1, 2, & 3 LynnWhelan@nationalsportscampus.ie; lynn1703@gmail.com Sport Ireland Facilities DAC 
Golf Ireland
       
Leonard Dodd Maureen Safeguarding 1  maureenleonarddodd@golfireland.ie Golf Ireland
Leonard Rory Safeguarding 1  roryleonard@golfireland.ie Golf Ireland
FAI
       
Kearney Damon Safeguarding 1  damon.kearney@fai.ie FAI
Power Gary Safeguarding 1  gary.power@fai.ie FAI
McElligott Chris Safeguarding 1  chris.mcelligott@fai.ie FAI
O'Connor Jason Safeguarding 1  jason.oconnor@fai.ie Limerick Sports Partnership, and Football Association Of Ireland
Heffernan Thomas Safeguarding 1  thomas.heffernan@fai.ie FAI
Tormey Jonathan Safeguarding 1  jonathan.tormey@fai.ie FAI
Seery Gary Safeguarding 1  gary.seery@fai.ie FAI
OHalloran Keith Safeguarding 1  keith.ohalloran@fai.ie FAI
Morris-Burke John Safeguarding 1  jmorrisburke@fai.ie FAI
Jameson Heather Safeguarding 1  heather.jameson@fai.ie FAI
Borley Trevor Safeguarding 1  trevor.borley@fai.ie FAI
Carberry Adrian Safeguarding 1  adrian.carberry@fai.ie FAI
Conlon Clare Safeguarding 1  cconlon@fai.ie FAI
Keoghan Neil Safeguarding 1  neil.keoghan@fai.ie FAI
Gleeson Tracy Safeguarding 1  Tracy.gleeson@fai.ie FAI
Martyn Paul Safeguarding 1  paul.martyn@fai.ie FAI
Aherne Darren Safeguarding 1  darren.aherne@fai.ie FAI
Murphy Gemma Safeguarding 1  gemma.murphy@fai.ie FAI
Wilson Jamie Safeguarding 1  jamie.wilson@fai.ie FAI
Coady Garry Safeguarding 1  garry.coady@fai.ie FAI
Byrne Glen Safeguarding 1  glen.byrne@fai.ie FAI
Corish Brendan Safeguarding 1  brendan.corish@fai.ie FAI
Keogh Paul Safeguarding 1  paul.keogh@fai.ie FAI 
Fingal County Council LSP
Behan Patrick Safeguarding 1  pat.behan@fai.ie FAI
Neville Michael Safeguarding 1  Michael.neville@fai.ie FAI
O'Hare Rory Safeguarding 1  rory.ohare@fai.ie FAI
Hynes Denis Safeguarding 1  denishynes@fai.ie FAI
DeCourcy Robert Safeguarding 1  Robert.decourcy@fai.ie FAI
Rake David Safeguarding 1  david.rake@fai.ie FAI
McGann Barry Safeguarding 1  barry.mcgann@fai.ie FAI

Safe Recruitment Training

The aim of Sport Ireland's Safe Recruitment training is to assist organisations to make safe recruitment decisions for staff and volunteers working with children.

Safe Recruitment Training Outcomes

On completion of this training participants should be able to do the following:

  • List the type of information that arises on a vetting disclosure.
  • Use National Vetting Bureau disclosures to make a safe recruitment process.
  • Be able to make a defensible decisions about a positive disclosure.
  • To know how and when to access specialist knowledge to support risk assessment.

The training is ran over one day and involves participants taking part in a number of different elements. The learning outcomes of the training are achieved through the use of scenario based case studies which participants must interact with individually and as a group. As mentioned above learners will leave with a greater knowledge of how to implement a risk assessment and also make defensible decisions around positive disclosures.